livefastpartyhard

an australian girl living in new york writing about music, fashion and life in general.

another night at webster hall

Posted by livefastpartyhard on 01/21/2010

The Revolutions & Resolutions Tour with The Audition/The Dangerous Summer/The Right Coast

01/20/10 Webster Hall NYC

The only band that I had heard of on this line-up was The Audition, but it was a Wednesday night and I was cashed up with Christmas money and the show was only $12 so I really couldn’t say no. There were some local bands on the line-up opening the show but because I had to come from work uptown I missed them and got there just in time to catch the band The Right Coast start playing.

My first thought upon entering the Studio at Webster Hall was one of surprise and along the lines of “Wow, I didn’t realize The Audition were so popular”. The room was almost completely packed, – very different from the last time I was here to see the Absolutepunk.net tour. The crowd was a mix of high school kids (as well as a few parental chaperones!) and young adults. It was a bit disconcerting to witness a stronger crowd singalong to Ke$ha’s song ‘Tik Tok’ than Jimmy Eat World’s ‘Sweetness’ when they played back to back on the PA system in-between bands.

When fellow Pennsylvanian band The Starting Line announced their indefinite hiatus/break-up early in 2008, my heart broke just a bit. After watching The Right Coast I realized I’d found a band to help mend that broken heart TSL left me with. Their songs are catchy and their all-round obvious enthusiasm towards the crowd, each other and their music is something a lot of bands have forgotten about in their pursuit of fame and fortune. The song ‘Madeline’ was one that particularly stuck in my head.

Next up were the band The Dangerous Summer. They weren’t as poppy as TRC but I still really enjoyed their music. It was genuine and heartfelt and they had the crowd singing along in no time. Sticking to TSL theme for the night, if TRC reminded me of early TSL material, then TDS could be compared to a cross between later TSL material (think the album Direction) and Jimmy Eat World.

By the time The Audition took the stage I was tired and contemplating leaving early because I’d already seen them play on quite a few occasions previously. A few songs into their set and I couldn’t leave; even though most of the songs I knew weren’t played until the tail-end of the set the music won me over. The band are about to release a new album in March so they played a few new songs but kept it balanced with old ones. Some memorable songs of the night include: My Temperature’s Rising, Los Angeles, Baby You Ruined This, It’s Gonna Be Hard (When I’m Gone), Approach the Bench and Don’t Be So Hard.

Leave a Reply

 
