livefastpartyhard

an australian girl living in new york writing about music, fashion and life in general.

SNOW (BLIZZARD) DAY!!

Posted by livefastpartyhard on 02/21/2010

NYC Blizzard February 10th 2010

Last weekend everyone was talking about how we were going to get a HUGE snowstorm on Friday/Saturday, everyone got freaked out and then it never arrived.

Until this morning.

Five days late and it finally showed up and hit the city with a vengence. I woke up this morning at 7:45am and the snow was already falling outside my window. Walking to my internship in Soho was slow-going because I was trying to avoid slipping over in the snow while also trying to avoid becoming a walking snowman.

After I arrived at the loft I had my ‘Devil Wears Prada’ moment of the week I think, – I was sent to run errands in the developing blizzard. Off to Kmart to get hangers and then on to Duane Read to get the photos of the models in the different looks developed. Let’s just say I discovered that snow is actually painful when it hits you straight in the eyes!

While I was running errands I called work a few times to see if they were still open and planning on staying open for at least some time in the afternoon so that it would be worth my while heading uptown for my shift. On the phone it sounded like we’d be open for a few hours longer and then shut so that everyone could get home in time before subway services were disrupted. Businesses were being advised to send their workers home and close for the day, on top of schools, libraries, the Central Park Zoo and courthouses all closed for the snow day.

When I got to work though I found out we were going to stay open for the entire day and shut at our normal time of 9:00pm. It seemed like half the staff had called out, and I wished that I had as well since all my friends had the day off. There were hardly any customers and between working I’d check the MTA site for updates, go upstairs to see the snow and try to navigate the street outside to get food.

Luckily for me my trains tonight were really that disrupted when I went home. It would have been nice to get home earlier, but at least it made me get to experience being outside for some of the day, – otherwise I may have chosen to stay in bed all day and watch the snow fall outside my window.

Leave a Reply

 
